XLRI GMP – MY interview experience

3 03 2008

Location – XIMR Campus, Mumbai
Date – 1st March 2008
Interviewers – Panel of 3 Professors

How was it? I don’t feel too confident… Or probably I was expecting a lot out of it and it turned out to be a damp squib… I don’t know what to expect… but yes I will eagerly wait for the results … probably early next month

For all those applicants who are waiting for their interviews, there’s only one advice I can give you… just be prepared to talk about yourself. It could be about your experience in the industry or some processes that you could improve… or even about your personal preferences in a presented case (as in my interview).

I was questioned about ethics versus business gains … my opinion in a hypothetical situation and my reasons for my views. Some questions also revolved around the things that I do when I am free

It was a QUESTION-ANSWER interview unlike the interactive/informal discussion type thats usual for US/UK MBA admissions. During an answer, I was interrupted by one of the interviewer and told that I better keep my answer relevant to the question 🙂 I did unsuccessfully attempt to explain him the relevance of my answer but… I don’t think he was open to understand my viewpoint

On hindsight I feel, I was a bit aggressive during the interview… but with Marketing as one of my target MBA specializations (Yes! I also let the interviewers know about my plans), I feel I should be aggressive in selling myself.

I am glad its over for now… It must be really difficult for the admissions committee to choose the class with just a 20 min interaction with the student (and obviously a one page resume!)… All said, I hope they select me. I am very keen on XL. Good ROI coupled with a US slowdown strongly favor an Indian MBA…

By the way, I had spoken to an alumnus of the GMP a couple of days back and he told me that the school is planning to increase the batch size to 120 this year… Something to cheer about!

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 03 2008
Devasish Basu

I had mine at XL, Jamshedpur on 8.3.8. As with you i am also not sure. Just kept on prodding in a sense. I am in Rlys and as expected it staretd with Rlys. But budget was something i had never in my mind. So missed a sitter but could expand upon it later on. But some tech ques were asked which unsettled me in the end. Dunno how it went in the end? waiting results.

23 03 2008
targetoflife

Hi Devasish

The results are expected by the end of this month or early next month… Let’s wait and watch

Hope we meet each other during the GMP 🙂

Cheers
RA

Leave a Reply

