XLRI GMP … Questions welcome

29 03 2009

Hello readers

The admission results for the GMP ’10 are out. Congratulations to all those who’ve made it! I know others won’t read this post so no point writing about them 😉

I can understand that all you selected guys have a lot of questions and doubts about the program… Feel free to ping me and I would try and answer as many as I can… In case, I am unable to handle the question myself, my friend list in GMP is quite diverse and I am sure someone can help you…

Let the queries pour in!

All the best guys…
Rohit

A word of advice… I have a a post where I have answered some of the questions that I had received. Please go through this FAQ list before asking your query,

https://targetoflife.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/xlri-gmp-qa-round-2/

Actions

Information

19 responses

30 03 2009
Durgesh

Thanks Rohit,

your post https://targetoflife.wordpress.com/2008/03/27/questions-about-xlri-gmp-clarified/ is already making rounds on the our google group.

On a specific note, do we need to make a prior trip to XLRI to arrange for SBI loan.

30 03 2009
targetoflife

Yes… SBI requires the applicants to visit the bank with their co-applicant (parent or spouse) to complete the loan formalities.

You can also try the CANARA Bank loan option which I had availed. The best part about it is that your local Canara bank branch also sanctions loan requests upto 85% of the total fee.

Regards
Rohit

31 03 2009
Amit

Rohit,

Thanks for your time for taking questions. Regarding SBI, do we have to avail loan from XLRI Jamshedpur branch? Can we not sanction the scholar loan from a local SBI branch?

Regarding Canara bank, is the loan sanctioned w/o collateral? Is the loan similar to SBI scholar loan?

Regards,
Amit

31 03 2009
targetoflife

@Amit

I had the loan sanctioned without any collateral… But a lot depends on the bank manager at your local branch. I can taken my loan from Sadashiv peth branch at Pune.

SBI – Only SBI Jamshedpur gives the loan on special conditions for XLers.

Cheers
Rohit

31 03 2009
Syam

Thanks for the site Rohit.
Any general thoughts on the GMP prgoram, program’s rigor, Jamshedpur city.
XLRI brand etc…?

31 03 2009
targetoflife

@ Syam

You can go through my blog posts. I have tried to include about the activities on campus… Let me know if you have specific questions.

Cheers
Rohit

31 03 2009
Amit

Hi Rohit,

I have a few questions about the course, stay and accomodation.

1. For unmarried students, does XLRI provide a single room or is it on a twin sharing basis?

2. Do we need to carry a n/w cord with us for the laptop, or is it wireless access to the network?

3. Are there any shops within or near to the campus to purchase household items ?

4. What expenses do we have to budget additionally during our stay? I understand that food is not included in the fees.

5. Do we need to buy any additional books during the course or are the notes provided by Profs enough?

6. Is there any constraint on the dress code during regular course work? I hope casuals are okay.

7. I understand that hectic would be a small word to describe your schedule, but how often do we get time to interact with student societies? Is there an opportunity to suggest an idea and start your own club?

8. How often do we have alumni meets or sessions with head honchos? I am asking purely from a n/wing perspective.

Appreciate your time in answering our queries.

Regards,
Amit

31 03 2009
targetoflife

Amit,

That’s a big list.. .Let me write all answers in a separate post. May be that’ll help you guys.

[Update] Here’s the post with all the answers – https://targetoflife.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/xlri-gmp-qa-round-2/

Cheers
Rohit

1 04 2009
Sameer

Hi Rohit,

Can you Please shed some light on the waitlist conversion ratio . Please convey some inputs on the chances of waiting list canddates and till what number can a waiting list candidate expect for conversion to a final call along with the timeframe for the same.

Regards
Sameer

1 04 2009
Parth

Hey Rohit,

How are you doing, i have couple of queries

1) What kind of roles/profiles are persons with IT industry and telecom domain experience are getting ?
2) Is there a room for career switch from IT to other industry/verticals? Like MC, Strategy roles ?
3) What kind of roles are being offered to persons with former IT background in this year’s recruitment process.

Thanks in Anticipation.

1 04 2009
targetoflife

Post updated with answer – https://targetoflife.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/xlri-gmp-qa-round-2/

Cheers
Rohit

7 04 2009
Jugnu Verma

Hi,
I am in waitlist of GMP 2010 and received a letter from XLRI to deposit Rs.20,000. What are the chances of getting a confirmed seat?

Jugnu

8 04 2009
Rakesh

Hi Rohit,

I have a couple of queries regarding the XLRI – GMP programme ,stay & accomodation ?

Q1. How has the placements been for the 2008 – 2009 batch ?
Q2. What are the various sectors in which people have been placed,average salaries,max salary & profiles offered ?
Q3. Which all companies came in for recruitment this year ?
Q4. INR 45000/- is being charged for computer ,Rs 15000 in 3 installments & we have been told to get our own laptops ? Then what are the computer charges for ?
Q5.Do you suggest one should get there own vehicle during there stay in the campus ?
Q6. Do we have to pay the mess charges in the begining itself or do we have the option of making monthly payments towards it ?
Q7.What all do they provide in the single rooms ?
Q7.I am a science student.Any suggestions on the preparatory ground work I should do before the course starts ?

I know it is a long list of questions & really would like to thank you in advance for taking your time out to answer my queries.

regards
Rakesh

10 04 2009
targetoflife

@ Jugnu and Rakesh

I have updated my post here – https://targetoflife.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/xlri-gmp-qa-round-2/ with answers to your queries

Cheers
Rohit

10 04 2009
Rakesh

Hey Rohit ,

Thanks for helping my queries.Grateful if you could please also share the placement trends for your batch.

Some specifics like sectors ,profile ,average salaries,number of job offer’s etc.

Thanks in advance

Cheers
Rakesh

10 04 2009
Rakesh

Hey Rohit ,

Thanks for answerin my queries.Grateful if you could please also share the placement trends for your batch.

Some specifics like sectors ,profile ,average salaries,number of job offer’s etc.

Thanks in advance

Cheers
Rakesh

15 04 2009
Rakesh

Hi Rohit,

I have cleared the GMP Programme & am waitlisted for PMIR (I hope to clear it)…Which one of the 2 you recommend basis programme structure,industry recognition,placements & overall content perspective.

I will really appreciate a early reply as I need to deposit the fee for the programmes…

Thanks in advance..

Regards
Rakesh Dhawan

7 09 2009
Rudramadhab behera

sir.how could i manage my time during preparation.plz tell me the way of preparation 4 XAT.

7 09 2009
Rudramadhab behera

sir plz tell me the attitude and leadership quality i should maintain during preparation for XAT.

Leave a Reply

